français

Home > Consortium








Search


Consortium

by Administrateur - 25 April 2014 ( maj : 23 November 2016 )

The consortium to conduct the SPHERE project consists of 12 major european astronomical institutions:

The consortium is composed of more than 150 people, administrative, technicians, engineers and researchers and is organized as follows::

  • Jean-Luc Beuzit (P.I., IPAG)
  • Markus Feldt (Co-P.I., MPIA)
  • David Mouillet (Project Scientist, IPAG)
  • Pascal Puget (Project Manager, IPAG)
  • Kjetil Dohlen (System Engineer, LAM)
  • François Wildi (AIT Manager, Geneva Observatory).
  • Gael Chauvin (GTO coordinator, IPAG)
  • Co-Is:
    • Anthony Boccaletti (LESIA),
    • François Ménard (IPAG),
    • Carsten Dominik (UvA),
    • Thomas Henning (MPIA),
    • Hervé Le Coroller (LAM),
    • Hans-Martin Schmid (ETHZ),
    • Massimo Turrato (INAF),
    • Stéphane Udry (Geneva Observatory),
    • Farrhok Vakhili (Lagrange)

The consortium currently operates the guaranteed time of SPHERE, ie 260 nights over 5 years. Guaranteed time is divided into four main scientific programs:

  • SHINE (PI: G. Chauvin, S. Desidera): a systematic survey of 200 nights over 5 years dedicated to the research and characterization of exoplanets beyond 10 AU. The results of this survey will bring important observational constraints on the external properties of exoplanetary systems to study their architecture and their formation, but also on the physics of giant planets not heavily irradiated,
  • DISK (PI: C. Dominik): a survey dedicated to the study of proto-planetary discs and debris for the study of interactions between planetary formation and circurmstellar disks,
  • REFPLANETS (PI: H.-M. Schmid): an ambitious program dedicated to the search for light reflected in the visible of exoplanets around nearby stars,
  • OTHERSCIENCE (PI: E. Lagadec): finally a final program dedicated to the study of evolved systems, small bodies and satellites of the solar system and young stars requiring a high angular resolution.

In order to make optimum use of these observations, the SPHERE consortium is organized according to the same scientific theme with four main groups (SHINE, DISK, REFPLANETS and OTHERSCIENCE). The SHINE group is itself divided into four sub-working groups dedicated to: i) selection and prioritization of sources (WP1), ii / observation strategy and reduction and analysis of high contrast data ( WP2), iii / identification and characterization of Automatic Line Back
Planets (WP3) and iv / statistical survey (WP4). For data processing, the consortium relies on the key role of high-contrast data center SPHERE of the Observatory of Sciences of the Universe of Grenoble (SPHERE-DC, PIs: N. Meunier / IPAG Grenoble for the data processing and H. The Coroller / LAM Marseille for the database) It entered into operation in early 2015, when SPHERE entered Paranal.

English

Accueil > Consortium








Rechercher


Consortium

par Administrateur - 25 avril 2014 ( maj : 23 novembre 2016 )

Le consortium SPHERE est constitué de 12 instituts européens :

Le consortium est composé de plus de 150 personnes, administratifs, techniciens, ingénieurs et chercheurs et s’organise de la façon suivante :

  • Jean-Luc Beuzit (P.I., IPAG)
  • Markus Feldt (Co-P.I., MPIA)
  • David Mouillet (Project Scientist, IPAG)
  • Pascal Puget (Project Manager, IPAG)
  • Kjetil Dohlen (System Engineer, LAM)
  • François Wildi (AIT Manager, Observatoire de Genève).
  • Gael Chauvin (GTO coordinator, IPAG)
  • Co-Is :
    • Anthony Boccaletti (LESIA),
    • François Ménard (IPAG),
    • Carsten Dominik (UvA),
    • Thomas Henning (MPIA),
    • Hervé Le Coroller(LAM),
    • Hans-Martin Schmid (ETHZ),
    • Massimo Turrato (INAF),
    • Stéphane Udry (Observatoire de Genève),
    • Farrhok Vakhili (Lagrange)

Le consortium exploite actuellement le temps garanti de SPHERE, soit 260 nuits sur 5 ans. Le temps garanti est partagé en quatre programmes scientifiques principaux :

  • SHINE (PI : G. Chauvin, S. Desidera) : un relevé systématique de 200 nuits sur 5 ans dédié à la recherche et à la caractérisation d’exoplanètes au-delà de 10 UA. Les résultats de ce relevé apporteront des contraintes observationnelles importantes sur les propriétés externes des systèmes exoplanétaires pour étudier leur architecture et leur formation, mais aussi sur la physique des planètes géantes non fortement irradiées,
  • DISK (PI : C. Dominik) : un relevé dédié à l’étude de disques proto-planétaires et de débris pour l’étude des interactions entre formation planétaire et disques circurmstellaires,
  • REFPLANETS (PI : H.-M. schmid) : un programme ambitieux dédié à la recherche de lumière réfléchie dans le visible d’exoplanètes autour d’étoiles proches,
  • OTHERSCIENCE (PI : E. Lagadec) : finalement un dernier programme dédié à l’étude de systèmes evolués, des petits corps et satellites du système solaire et aux étoiles jeunes nécessitant une haute résolution angulaire.

Dans le but d’exploiter de manière optimale ces observations, le consortium SPHERE s’organise selon cette même structure par thème scientifique avec quatre groupes principaux (SHINE, DISK, REFPLANETS et OTHERSCIENCE). Le groupe SHINE est lui-même divisé en quatre sous-groupes de travail dédiés à : i/ la sélection et la prioritisation des sources (WP1), ii/ la stratégie d’observation et la réduction et l’analyse des données haut contraste (WP2), iii/ l’identification et la caractérisation des
planètes (WP3) et iv/ l’étude statistique de relevé (WP4). Pour le traitement de données, le consortium s’appuie sur le rôle clef de centre de données haut contraste SPHERE de l’Observatoire des Sciences de l’Univers de Grenoble (SPHERE-DC ; PIs : N. Meunier/IPAG pour le centre de traitement et H. Le Coroller/LAM pour la base de données) Il est entré en opération début 2015, lors de l’entrée en fonction de SPHERE à Paranal.